
 
See the next page for additional information. 

Keep this page for your reference. Do not submit it with your application. 
 

 
 
 
 

Application for Exemption of Property 
Instructions 

 
Before you fill out the application forms, please review this information carefully. Failure to properly 
complete and submit your application may result in its rejection, substantial delays or denial 
of the requested exemption. We suggest you print these instructions for future reference. 

When completing the application, Ctrl+clicking on any red form title (e.g. Form X) will open up that 
form in a separate browser window. Each form you open will need to be downloaded to your desktop 
so that you can save and edit it. Once a form is downloaded to your computer, you will be able to 
navigate to the next form by following the aforementioned process (Ctrl+click on the red form name, 
download form from the browser window to your desktop, open it in Adobe Reader, and save).  

• If you are applying for exemption of personal property (furniture, equipment, etc.) only, you 
may not need to file this application. If the county assessor's records show the property at that 
address has an actual value of $7,400 or less ($7,700 beginning in 2019) contact the 
assessor's office about possible exemption pursuant to 39-3-119.5, C.R.S. 
 

• A separate application and fee is required for each parcel of real property (or for each 
tax area if for personal property only). Consult your county assessor if you are unsure as 
to how many parcels or tax areas are involved. 
 

• The application(s) must be submitted through your County Assessor. Unless you have 
been directed otherwise by the Division of Property Taxation, send the completed, original 
application(s), all supporting documents and the filing fee(s) to the assessor's office of the 
county in which the property is located. Keep a copy of the application for your records. 
 

• If the application is filed between June 1 and December 31, you must notify the County 
Treasurer that the application is pending in order to keep the property from being sold at tax 
sale for non-payment of the prior year's taxes. 
 

• We cannot review your request until the $175.00 filing fee is paid in full. 
o Securely attach the application fee to the application.  
o Make your check or money order payable to Colorado Department of Local 

Affairs. We cannot take cash or credit/debit cards. 
 

• Failure to supply complete or accurate information may result in denial of exemption. 
o Complete all forms carefully and thoroughly.  
o Attach additional sheets as needed, and number them with the corresponding section 

and question numbers. 
o Provide the correct mailing address and phone number on the form. 
o Provide contact information for an individual who can provide further information. 
o Sign and date the application. 

 



 
 

Governor John W. Hickenlooper  |  Irv Halter, Executive Director  |   JoAnn Groff, Property Tax Administrator 
 1313 Sherman St., Room 419, Denver, CO 80203 P 303.864.7777 F 303.864.7799 www.dola.colorado.gov 

Strengthening Colorado Communities 

• After the application has been filed: 
o You will receive a letter from the Division of Property Taxation which will include the 

assigned application number. Please use that number on all follow-up 
correspondence. 
 

o In accordance with law, the Division of Property Taxation may require additional 
information. If you have any questions regarding a request for information, feel free to 
call before responding. 

 
• While the application is pending: 

o An examiner may need to contact you for additional information. 
o An examiner may perform an inspection of the subject property at any time. 
o Inform the Division of Property Taxation of any change in mailing address or phone 

number. 

If the Division issues a Tentative Determination denying part or all of the requested 
exemption: 

• Contact the examiner whose name is on the determination form if you have any questions. 
• If you are not satisfied, you may request a public hearing within 30 days of the date of the 

Tentative Determination. 
• If you understand and wish to accept the decision, you may waive your right to a public 

hearing by signing the waiver form that will be provided. 

Upon the issuance of a Final Determination: 

• You may appeal the Property Tax Administrator's decision to the Board of Assessment 
Appeals within 30 days of the date of that final determination. 

After any exemption is granted: 

• The Division of Property Taxation will send an Exempt Property Report to you around the first 
of March of each year following the year in which the determination granting the exemption 
was issued. You will need to complete and return that Exempt Property Report, along with all 
required filing fees, by the deadlines specified on the forms to maintain the exemption. 

• Keep the Division of Property Taxation informed as to any change in mailing address or 
telephone number. Failure to do so may result in loss of exemption. 

• Promptly report any transfer of ownership of the property. 

If you have any questions regarding property tax exemption statutes: 

• Rules and statutes pertaining to exemptions, and additional information and forms, may be 
found on the Division of Property Taxation website at: 
http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dola/property-taxation. 

• The Colorado Revised Statutes should be available at your local library or online at 
http://leg.colorado.gov/ 

• Contact the Exemptions office at 303-864-7780, or go to the Division’s website at 
http://www.colorado.gov/pacifica/dola/property-taxation.  

To begin: Ctrl+Click on FORM A. 

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dola/property-taxation
http://leg.colorado.gov/
http://www.colorado.gov/pacifica/dola/property-taxation
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1AIuI3E4pqstpRGkAklOGTNpkZ6wq8uV1&authuser=0
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PHONE: 303-864-7780 
TTY: 303-864-7758 

APP NO.   - 
FILE NO.   - 
COUNTY 

Division of Property Taxation use ONLY 

Application for Exemption of Property 
Form A – All Applicants 

Before you fill out the application forms, carefully review the information on the preceding instruction page.  
Failure to properly complete and submit your application may result in its rejection, substantial delays 
or denial of the requested exemption. 

 1. Property owner (as on deed or title) 
Name 

Address 

Daytime Phone 

4. Type of property (check one or both) 
← REAL (land, buildings, mobile homes, 
leasehold improvements, possessory interest) 

← PERSONAL (furniture, equipment, and other moveable 
items not affixed to land or buildings) 

6. Legal description of REAL property, as on assessment records/deed (use attachments as needed)

(check if continued/attached) → 

 

2. Contact 
Name 

Address (if different than in Section 1) 

Daytime Phone (if different than in Section 1) 

Email Address (optional) 
3. County in which property is located

5. Physical location or street address of property (Please attach directions to the property.)

7. Key dates (Month/Day/Year)

7.A. Date of acquisition (as on
deed or title)

7.B. Date actual use for exempt
purposes began

7.C. Date construction or
renovation began

/    / /    / /    / 
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9. Current market values of this property

Land Buildings and other 
improvements 

Personal (furniture, equipment, 
and other moveable items) 

$ $ $ 

10. Description of property owner? (check only one category) 
← Colorado non-profit corporation 
← Other non-profit corporation   State Registered in Colorado? YES → NO → 

← Unincorporated, non-profit association 
← Limited Liability Company 
← Limited Partnership 
← Trust 
← For-profit corporation (STOP – Exemption cannot be granted to property owned by a for-profit corporation.) 
← Entity formed for the purpose of obtaining federal tax credits. 
← Individual (STOP – Exemption cannot be granted to property owned by an individual.) 
← Other (describe): 

8. Is property both owned and used for religious purposes? (check only one) 
← YES – STOP: complete and attach supplemental Form B; then return to this form and complete Section 16. 
← NO – Continue with the remaining sections of this form. 

 

11. Owner’s purpose(s) (in your own words, not those of the organizational documents)

12. Owner’s property uses (detailed description)   Unused property CANNOT be granted exemption

https://drive.google.com/open?id=16Ssgn5K3NYbEUfPIe-p_2kAeueef4EwE&authuser=0
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15. Required forms (check all applicable categories; complete and attach each noted supplemental
form) 

← School  (39-3-107, C.R.S.) Form C 
← Licensed Health Care Facility  (39-3-108(1)(b), C.R.S.) Form D 
← Domestic Water Company  (39-3-108(1)(c), C.R.S.) Form E 
← Amateur Sports Organization  (39-3-108(1.3), C.R.S.) Form F 
← Community Corrections Facility  (39-3-108.5, C.R.S.) Form G 
← Child Care Center  (39-3-110, C.R.S.) Form H 
← Fraternal or Veterans Organization  (39-3-111, C.R.S.) Form I 
← Health Care Services – Non-licensed facility occupied by physician/dentist  (39-3-111.5, C.R.S) Form J 
← Charitable Purposes – Non-residential*  (39-3-108(1)(a), C.R.S.)    (use if other categories do not apply)   Form K 
← Charitable Purposes – Residential*  (39-3-109, 112, 112.5 and 113, C.R.S.) Form L 
← Housing Provider for Future Low-income Buyers  (39-3-113.5, C.R.S.) Form M 

* “Residential” means average occupancy exceeds 90 days.

16. Signature and verification 
I declare, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that I have examined this application, 
including any accompanying statements and documents, and to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is true, correct and complete. 

Signature 
Date (Month/Day/Year) /    / 

Printed Name Title 

14. Required document attachments (attach all for the owner, and check as done; otherwise explain) 
A. ← ALL organizational documents (e.g. Articles of Incorporation/Organization, Bylaws, Partnership Agreement) 
If you are certain that current copies of the above are already on file with our office, so note in D below. 
B. ← Financial statements, to include balance sheet and operating statement, for the owner’s last fiscal year 
C. ← Annual report, and/or any published brochures explaining the owner’s organization and activities 
D. Explaining missing document attachments:

13. History 
Name of prior property owner (if known) 
Has your organization previously applied for property tax exemption in Colorado? YES → NO → 
If YES above:   County File No. Owner name 

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1bvc3uaapY2A4kFc_j-LqF_thNkGbw9Lh&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kctt0uUr05GVftqrmC72GwHuzpwl1XS4&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NW5SS-Trh-qDnkw1DeCDjmLSuX1v7JPb&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1mg2-crc5KDI3UcCu0LSmISTTskf0jIKF&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1eE4DR0SfixASNaxXDvMHqql9TP2RWocC&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Y7zXeJX8CbH8756gM4QVjlgR77d6bltH&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ZGqQBDMxhq2WWaM__NwIr7CTC0L5yFD4&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1E5XelmzMgmzzthNvMos7C8zXeTRoROYu&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1zn6-ykQc4XmA0IYKWqPEHmtGePg3wZNh&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1csKJCep3ol1xcoSZVB06Wa24GwFhZM1N&authuser=0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ScT0ptpH3L1MfAXhFfJgr3tNKQh-31bv&authuser=0
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 The portion below is to be completed by the County Assessor 
 
Please complete each of the following items with respect to the subject property.  Forward the original of the application 
form and the supporting documents to the Division of Property Taxation, along with the applicant's check.  Make a copy of 
the application and retain it for your files if desired.  You will be notified when a determination is reached. 

 A. Date application was postmarked or hand delivered your office (mm/dd/yy) /          / 
B. Legal description (Section 6) or personal property location (Section 5) Correct →  Incorrect →  
C. Name of owner (Section 1) Correct →  Incorrect →  

If B and/or C above are incorrect, please attach correct information and/or provide it in the Comments field below. 
D. Date title transferred (mm/dd/yy) /          / 
E. Date deed recorded (mm/dd/yy) /          / 

Reception Number     Or book  page   
F. State Parcel ID   

If multiple parcels apply, please identify each by legal description in the Comments field below. 

G. Tax Area   

If multiple tax areas apply, please identify each by location in the Comments field below. 

H. ACTUAL Value 
Land $ Improvements $ Personal $ 
I. PLEASE PROVIDE COPIES OF THE PROPERTY RECORD AND A PLAT OF THE AREA 

County Assessor  Date (Mm/Dd/Yy) /          / 

By  Phone -           - 
 

Comments  
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